The Pit

The Pit

Well the weather outside is frightful, it is the song that is running through my mind at the moment, because it really is frightful outside right now. Freezing temps and the sun has left us to hide behind a thick granite wall of clouds that continue to release ice, sleet, and frozen rain, which has led me to sit, reflect and share, so here goes Blog posting number two.

As I have shared before, my Love relationship with the Lord is more real and personal to me than anything here on earth that I could touch, see, feel or taste. He is in EVERYTHING in my life, when I acknowledge Him. However, when my emotions and mind go in a direction away from His very presence, I start to slide into this deep miry pit where the enemy welcomes me with open arms, and endless thoughts of hopelessness, discouragement and total depression. How I get here is my quest to find out!

We read in His Word that we are to “Enter into His rest” because He has won, we are the Victors, heirs to His throne, forgiven and blessed. In His rest I am at Peace, filled with contentment, overjoyed and there is NO LACK in any aspect of my life, body, soul or spirit. In the birds, the people around me, circumstances and deep within my soul I can feel and see His very presence. WHY and HOW do I get lured away from this completeness, His wholeness?

There is an enemy that is lurking and stalking us like a ravenous and starving beast that has the desire to feed on us, to steal, kill and destroy us. Anyone that is a believer is warned of this, taught about this and encouraged to stay far away from its very presence. Sound so easy to stay far away from anything that would bring ourselves or loved ones harm, and remove us from wholeness, Peace, and Prosperity and the very presence of our Lord.

Through my self evaluation, many tears, melt down moments, praying and seeking Wisdom I have discovered it is when I allow MY FLESH to have its way. When I spend too much time in the natural and not enough time in His presence, is how I start my descent into the miry pit and it has proven to be a slow and VERY painful treacherous self defeating existence. Though I pray and ask Him for help, seek Him and even holler out loud for Him, and He is there, I still continue to slide and wonder why He is not rescuing me from myself. He is not rescuing me because I would not learn why and how I start to slide away from His rest, He then would be enabling me and doing exactly what He never does, which is take control of our will.

So my will is to feel horrible? My will is to be in lack? My will is to feel hopeless, broke, busted, disgusted and depressed? NO WAY! So why am I drawn to it, why are the feeling so familiar? As I read His Word and seek His Wisdom, I discover that I was made and created in sin, that my flesh was dominant for over 20 plus years of my life, and that EVERY ONE goes through the same struggles and daily, sometimes moment by moment we are making conscience and unconscious decisions that either draw us closer into His rest or take us further away from Him.

As a lost child in an amusement park so desperate to find his/her parents, I too feel that same way, when in this emotional pit, and just as the child reacts when they catch a glimpse at the familiar safe and loving face of the parents they were separated from, they are overcome with emotions of joy, peace and comfort that they are safe again and everything is going to be okay, I too go through the same emotions and I believe so many others do to.

Again, how do we get separated? Upon reuniting, as I am now, going over the events that took place to cause the confusion, miscommunication, and separation and a better action plan for quicker reunification.

For me, I must make time daily to read His word, allow it to sink in and the seed take root, which happens through meditating, being still and welcoming His very presence. I know so often if I get an important phone call I will cover one ear, bend my head down, close my eyes and really concentrate on what the caller is saying, and if needed, I take notes as to remind myself of the information that was shared so I can review and look back on it, if needed. This is how I must treat my time in His Word, instead of reading a devotion, while eating or multitasking, which I so often do.

Also, when negative thoughts or circumstances present themselves to me, like an unwelcome phone call with bad news that appears to be a hopeless and overwhelming circumstance with no positive outcome visible. I’ve learned that I must immediately put them through the filter of His Word, such as His Truth that says “He knows the plans He has for me, plans to prosper me and not to harm me, plans to give me a hope and a future” He also says, that “He will perfect that which concerns me”, and that He is my very present help in time of need.

For many months and years I can tell you that I would try not to react in the flesh and try not to swallow into my soul the bad information, but never the less, the results were such that it would find a familiar place and take root and start to drag me into the miry pit. So I must become unfamiliar with this thinking and feeling, I must fully understand that there is a battle and it is a battle for my body, mind and soul.

When I worship the Lord through singing, it’s like a warm shower on a cold night, a cup of cold water on a super hot day, my soul is refreshed and there is no comparison to the exhilarating refreshment of being one with Him, so this too I need to do daily! Can’t readily slip into a miry pit, if staying in the presence of my Lord, just doesn’t happen.

One of the biggest traps mentally that I so readily am taken captive to is the thoughts that I could have or should have done something better or different and that I am missing the mark, I am not DOING what I need to do, because I do not know what it is that is expected of me. So I get busy, busy doing and being what I think is the very best me and trying so very hard to make everyone around me happy and without any lack of any kind, only to awaken to the presence of the “pit” the miry pit that is absent of Him feeling lonely, hopeless and totally depressed.

So how am I going to avoid this trap that I so easily find myself in? Seeking Him first and throughout my day, denying myself and checking in with Him through simple prayers and quietness, doesn’t have to be more than a minute or so, but it does need to be consistently throughout my waking day.

When I remind myself of His Word that I have committed to memory, it is so much easier to stay on course and close to Him.

Therefore friends, I make this asserted effort and commit it to writing that daily I will seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and all other things will be added on to me, I will do this by acknowledging His presence in my life and being in touch with the reality of His goodness and Divine blessings. I will sit quietly and undisturbed as I allow His Word to take root and get established in my soul, so when tested I am grounded and unmoved. This will be easier by taking a little time daily to worship him through singing, praying in the spirit and thanking Him for everything He has done and will continue to do, on my behalf.

I pray as I have openly shared that it has encouraged others by understanding that you are not alone in your daily battle, that there is a way to live victoriously by acknowledging Him and His truth that the battle was won, we can enter into His rest and after seeking Him we can be assured that He already knew about what we are facing and has a way out that leads to total victory and glory to Him.

Blessing,

Sue

Leave a Reply

